Meta ads agencies for ecommerce usually charge 10 to 20% of monthly ad spend, a flat retainer, or a base fee plus a smaller percentage. Published flat retainers start around $700 to $1,500 and commonly run $1,000 to $5,000 a month. Creative production is often billed on top. Larger accounts pay a lower percentage.
The fee is only half the decision. The other half is whether the agency improves results enough to pay for itself at your spend level. This guide covers both, with sources for every range.
Most sources agree on 10 to 20% of spend. They disagree on the edges and on flat fees.
| Source |
Percent of spend |
Flat or base fee |
| A large US agency's social ads pricing page |
10 to 20% typical; its own plan is 15%, or 12% above $30,000 spend |
Minimum $975 a month, or $4,500 above $30,000 spend |
| eightx media agency fee analysis |
About 20% under $50,000 spend, 15% at $50,000 to $150,000, 10 to 12% above $150,000 |
Not stated |
| A paid social agency's 2026 pricing guide |
10 to 20%, up to 25% |
$1,000 to $5,000 a month |
| A Facebook ads agency's pricing guide |
10 to 25% |
$699 to $5,000+ a month |
| A Meta agency's pricing breakdown |
10 to 20%, lower on large accounts |
$700 to $1,500 basic, up to $15,000 with creative |
| Clutch social media marketing data |
Not stated |
$5,107 average monthly cost |
Two patterns stand out. The percentage falls as spend rises, because the work does not grow one for one with budget. And small accounts pay a minimum, because 15% of $3,000 does not cover anyone's time.
Hourly rates frame the spread. Clutch lists US social agencies at $100 to $149 an hour. Superscale's 2026 roundup of Upwork data puts freelance Meta specialists at $15 to $40 an hour, with a $25 median.
Percent of spend, flat fee or hybrid: how do they compare?
Each model shifts risk and incentives differently.
Percent of spend. Simple, and the fee grows with the account. The downside: the agency earns more when you spend more, whether or not that spend is profitable.
Flat fee. Predictable, and it removes the incentive to push budget. The downside: it usually reprices when spend crosses a tier, and scope can shrink quietly if hours run over.
Hybrid. A base fee plus a lower percentage. Examples in published guides include $1,500 plus 8% of spend and a retainer plus 4 to 7% of spend.
How common is each? The best survey data we found is older. Credo's agency pricing survey, last updated in 2022, found 51.8% of social ads agencies bill a flat fee, 23.93% a flat fee plus a percentage, 11.8% a percentage only and 6.56% a share of profit or uplift. Treat that as directional.
Here is what each model costs at different spend levels. The hybrid example is $2,500 plus 5%.
| Monthly ad spend |
15% of spend |
Hybrid: $2,500 + 5% |
Hybrid as % of spend |
| $10,000 |
$1,500 |
$3,000 |
30.0% |
| $25,000 |
$3,750 |
$3,750 |
15.0% |
| $50,000 |
$7,500 |
$5,000 |
10.0% |
| $100,000 |
$15,000 |
$7,500 |
7.5% |
| $200,000 |
$30,000 |
$12,500 |
6.3% |
Below $25,000 a month, the percentage model is cheaper. Above it, the hybrid wins and the gap widens fast. Our retainer vs project pricing guide covers how to structure a trial month on either model.
What does creative cost on top of the agency fee?
Often as much as the management fee. Many quotes exclude it, so ask for it as a separate line.
eightx estimates creative production at 10 to 15% of media spend, and lists per-asset pricing of $150 to $500 for a static and $500 to $2,000 for a video. On a $50,000 month, 10 to 15% is $5,000 to $7,500.
UGC is the most common format for D2C. Published 2026 creator rates:
| Creator tier |
JoinBrands per video |
Insense per video |
| Beginner |
$150 to $400 |
$50 to $400 |
| Mid-level |
$400 to $1,000 |
$150 to $1,000 |
| Premium |
$1,000 to $3,000+ |
$500 to $3,000+ |
Usage rights add more. JoinBrands lists 20 to 50% extra for paid ad use. Neither source states a sample size, so treat these as market quotes.
A worked example: you plan 8 new UGC videos a month from mid-level creators. At $400 to $1,000 each, that is $3,200 to $8,000, before paid usage rights. Add that to the management fee when you compare quotes.
Hidden extras go beyond creative. One Meta agency's guide says setup fees, tools and revisions can add 20 to 40% to the quote. Another lists setup fees of $500 to $7,000 and attribution tools at $200 to $500+ a month.
An agency pays for itself when it lowers your CAC by more than its fee adds to it. That bar drops as spend rises.
Start with a fictional $3M a year apparel brand running it in-house. It spends $50,000 a month and gets 1,000 new customers, a $50 CAC.
It hires an agency at 15% of spend. The fee is $7,500, so total cost is $57,500. To match the old $50 CAC on total cost, the agency needs 1,150 new customers from the same $50,000. That is a 13% lower media CAC, just to break even.
The required improvement equals fee divided by spend plus fee. Here it is at each spend level for the two models above:
| Monthly ad spend |
CAC drop needed at 15% |
CAC drop needed at $2,500 + 5% |
| $10,000 |
13.0% |
23.1% |
| $25,000 |
13.0% |
13.0% |
| $50,000 |
13.0% |
9.1% |
| $100,000 |
13.0% |
7.0% |
| $200,000 |
13.0% |
5.9% |
Add creative to the fee if the agency produces it and you were not paying for it before.
This math ignores your own time. If a founder spends 15 hours a week in Ads Manager, that time has a cost too. Run the numbers on contribution margin, not revenue, using our contribution margin guide. For CAC by channel, see our D2C CAC benchmarks for 2026.
When does percent of spend misalign incentives?
When the next dollar of spend is less profitable than the last, and the agency still earns 15% of it.
Take the same brand. The agency raises spend from $50,000 to $80,000. New customers rise from 1,000 to 1,300. Blended CAC moves from $50 to about $62. The extra 300 customers cost $100 each. The fee rises from $7,500 to $12,000.
The agency earned $4,500 more. The brand bought 300 customers at twice its old CAC. If break-even CAC is $70, those customers lose money.
Guardrails that fix this:
- Fee caps or step-downs. For example, 15% up to $50,000 and 8% above it.
- A CAC ceiling in the scope. No budget increase without new-customer CAC under an agreed number.
- Report on new-customer CAC and MER, not platform ROAS. Meta's Advantage+ campaigns can blend returning buyers into results unless you separate them.
- Flat or hybrid fees once spend passes the crossover in the table above.
None of these require bad intent to matter. They make the agency's payday and your margin move the same way. Our agency red flags post covers related warning signs, such as guaranteed ROAS.
Each fits a different spend band.
Several agency guides suggest agencies work best once spend reaches $10,000 to $20,000 a month. Below that, a minimum fee becomes a large share of the budget.
Our cost of a senior Klaviyo or Meta hire post covers salary, ramp time and what one buyer can manage.
Skip it while store revenue is under about $20,000 a month or ad spend is under about $5,000.
At that level, a $1,500 minimum is 30% or more of your media budget. Use the money for creative instead. Run Advantage+ shopping with 5 to 10 strong ads, and fix the product page and checkout first. Our free store grader flags the biggest on-site gaps for smaller stores.
Hire when spend is past the crossover in the tables above and you can name the gap: creative volume, testing discipline or scale without CAC blowing out. We managed $30M+ in D2C ad spend in 2025, and the accounts that grow cleanly set the CAC ceiling before they set the budget.
For the full hiring decision across channels, start with how to hire an ecommerce marketing agency. Pricing email too? See Klaviyo agency pricing. Before you sign, review the contract terms to negotiate. If you want a quote built around your spend and margins, book a call at /contact.